ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

House Bill 414

St. Mary's County – Property Tax Credit for Improvements to Commercial Real Property and Transfer Tax Sunset Extension

SUPPORT

March 16, 2020

The Honorable Senator Guy Guzzone, Chairman Budget and Taxation Committee 3 West, Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Guzzone:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County STRONGLY SUPPORT House Bill 414 - St. Mary's County – Property Tax Credit for Improvements to Commercial Real Property and Transfer Tax Sunset Extension which is being heard in the Budget and Taxation Committee. St. Mary's County's Transfer Tax authority will terminate on July 1, 2020 and we are requesting to extend the Sunset Provision until October 1, 2024 as requested by the Chief Financial Officer, Jeannett Cudmore.

We request a favorable report on House Bill 414. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, Presiden

CSMC/AB/sf T:/ALL/Consent/2020/080 Page 2 The Honorable Senator Guy Guzzone, Chairman March 16, 2020

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Gerald Clark
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Todd Morgan
Commissioner John O'Connor
Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator
David Weiskopf, County Attorney